Loving without condition, giving without measure, living for each moment

Spring Break

For some reason I don’t remember spring break last year.  I know it was after Easter, but I can’t remember what we did.  And the more I tried, the more frustrated I became.  I feel like spring break is a special time, a break in the routine, a time to celebrate spring and renewed hope and the importance of life and I really wanted to remember this time with my girls.  I really really wanted them to remember the time with me.  So I made the decision to make each day special, to do all fun things and suspend the regular old routine.  And it’s safe to say that we will remember this spring break!

I must confess, I cannot take all the credit for this week, the weather was absolutely amazing.  Yeah yeah, people were complaining about our record-setting heat, but I love the summer, and it was such a help in making this week feel like vacation.  While the heat was welcome, the astronomical pollen and mold counts were not.  It turns out that our family can weather typical spring allergies but three of the four of us have fallen victim to the atypical extremes floating around this year ~ maybe because it’s the same three of us who spent virtually all week outside!

Anyhow, the break really began on Saturday with our early Easter celebrations.  We were so excited that the neighborhood was once again hosting its Easter festivities.  The first time we attended, Missy Doody was barely walking, some of my favorite pictures of her are from that outing.  She was 15 months old and she was wearing a dress for 3 – 6 month olds.  But she was walking, pink, and precious.  I don’t think it registered then, just how close she’d come.  Princess P had her face painted and was so precious, talking with everyone, exploring everything.  Not too much has changed there!

I cannot believe how much they’ve grown.  It just doesn’t seem possible, and then I look back on all that’s happened in these two years…and I get exhausted!

One of my all time favorite family pictures was taken that year, with the “Easter Bunny.”  This year, we walked in, Missy D took one look and said, very mater of factly, “uh, no way.”  And that was that.  I didn’t even try (it just wasn’t worth it).  Princess P, true to form, danced right in, hopped up on the Bunny’s lap and flashed her grin.  Not a worry in the world, that one.

Egg hunting went very well.  Missy D was still on the tennis courts with the 0-3 set, while P graduated to the fields.  Missy D takes her egg hunting very seriously and collected more than her bucket could hold (with help from her sister of course).  Now, the 4 – 6-year-old hunt was complicated by the instruction that there were three “golden eggs” which contained tickets for the huge chocolate bunnies and fully stocked baskets.  Princess P was only one of many little ones who passed up all the rest of the eggs in search of the coveted golden egg.  I felt really sad for her because by the time she realized what she was doing, there weren’t many eggs left.  She was a little disappointed with her small stash, but Missy was more than willing to share hers.  I love the way they love each other.

We cut our time short to head to the River for the annual Easter Stroll ~ our third in a row.  Last year the girls made the front page of the Southside Sentinel all huddled in their wagon, wrapped in brightly covered fleece blankets with only a peek of their little faces showing underneath their festive bonnets.  It was cold, windy, and rainy.  But braving the elements was all worth it just to see Missy Doody fall in love with Mickey and Minnie.  This year it wasn’t quite as balmy as originally forecast, but still warm enough to wear sundresses and sandals!  What a difference a year makes. 

They picked out the flowers on their hats and directed my in the placement of the decorations.  Princess P was particularly in love with her pink carnations “marigolds.”  Interestingly, Missy D was a little scared of Mickey and Minnie this year, especially when she realized that they are really “people dressed up as Mickey and Minnie, not the real ones.”  I was so proud of her though because she managed to overcome that anxiety and hold Mickey’s hand and she and her sister, and the rest of the parade, took their stroll.

We took this picture for Daddy, and it’s too cute not to post.

And the other herald of spring…dolf is open again!  We couldn’t let the opportunity for the first round of the season pass us by.  It’s good to know that the more some things change, the more others stay the same…

All our favorites, are still our favorites: the water features, the trick holes, and of course, the pilings.  Because who can resist such a good photo op?!?!

My girls crack me up!  But I love every minute with them.  They are so funny and so much fun.  (And yes, Princess P completely poses for pictures…it doesn’t come from me!)  With so much to be thankful for, I am always most humbled to have such a special family.

PS.  We also drive tractors!

One response

  1. sally

    I’m so glad to have found your other blog! I’ve missed not seeing those adorable girls! And we are terribly sad about Jack:(

    April 12, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

